Cache

The browser cache is a folder with copies of some data from pages that you have visited. Usually, the cache stores page elements that are unlikely to have changed in the time between your two requests, such as music, videos, images, styles, and scripts. When you visit the pages again, Yandex Browser for Mobile will not download this data from the internet but will retrieve it from the cache. Using the cache reduces the network load and speeds up page loading.

  1. Clearing the cache
  2. Transfer cache to SD card

Clearing the cache

  1. Tap (if you don't see this button, then press the menu button on your smartphone).
  2. Select Settings.
  3. Go to the Privacy section.
  4. Tap Clear data.
  5. Enable the Cache option.
  6. Disable all the other options (if you only want to delete the browser cache).
  7. Tap Clear data.
  8. Confirm deletion.

Transfer cache to SD card

By default, the cache is written to your smartphone's internal memory. Transferring it to an SD card allows you to free up space on your smartphone's internal storage. You can transfer data if your smartphone has:

  • Android version 4.1 or later
  • An external SD card
Attention. Data that you transfer to an external drive becomes accessible to all third-party apps, including malicious ones. For this reason, Yandex Browser for Mobile transfers the cache to the external SD card in encrypted form.
Enable cache transfer:
  1. Tap (if you don't see this button, then press the menu button on your smartphone).
  2. Select Settings.
  3. In the More settings section, enable the Save cache to SD card option.
  4. In the dialog window, select:
    • Restart to restart the browser immediately and start writing the cache to your SD card.
    • Later to put off restarting the browser and transferring your cache until later. The cache will be transferred after you restart your browser. It will continue to write to your device's internal memory until then.
Automatic cache transfer

With transferring enabled, your write access to the SD card is checked every time you relaunch your browser after installing or updating it. If you have access, the cache will automatically be transferred to your SD card.

What happens when the SD card is removed?

If the card is removed, the cache will write to your device's internal memory.

If the memory card is removed while your browser is running, the browser will continue working, but the cache will not resume writing until you restart your browser. After restarting, the cache will write to your smartphone's internal memory.