Browser syncing

Syncing lets you save your main browser settings and personal data on a designated Yandex server. All information is transmitted to the Yandex server over a secure channel. Passwords are sent encrypted. Access to your data on the server is protected by the same authorization system as on other Yandex services.

  1. What is synchronization?
  2. How do I enable syncing?
  3. Changing the list of data to sync
  4. Delete synced data
  5. Disable syncing

What is synchronization?

Примечание. Only enable syncing on your own devices. When using someone else's device or a shared device, it is better to use Incognito mode.

Bookmarks, passwords, history, plugins, and autofill forms are synced by default.

Syncing lets you:

  • Use the password manager on your synced devices (automatic entry of passwords, encrypted password vault, and recovery of website access if you forget your master password).
  • View open tabs, bookmarks and sites that are saved to your Tableau on your synced devices.
  • Configure the browser similarly on all your devices.
  • Recover passwords, bookmarks, tabs and browser settings, even if something goes wrong with your device.

You can turn off syncing or adjust the list of data to sync at any time when using the browser.

How often is data synced?

After you enable syncing, data will be synced each time you change data that is stored on the server. For example, when you add a bookmark on your computer, the browser sends it to the server and simultaneously downloads all the changes you've made on your other devices since the last syncing.

How do I enable syncing?

Внимание. If your browser has multiple profiles, make sure you are in your own profile before syncing (otherwise you might mix your data and settings with the data from someone else's profile that is currently active).

In order for syncing to work you have to:

  • Have Yandex Browser installed on all the devices (computer, smartphone, tablet).
  • Have the same used on all the devices.

When syncing, there are two ways to sign in:

  • Sign in using a .
  • (access your account via one-time passwords).

To enable syncing:

  1. Click  → Save data.
  2. On the Syncing page, enter your Yandex username and password. If you are not registered on Yandex, you can:
    • Register on Yandex by clicking the Create account link.
    • Log in to Yandex via your social media account in VK, Odnoklassniki, Mail.ru, Facebook, Twitter, or Google (click a relevant social media logo). In this case, a Yandex account is created .
  3. Click the Enable syncing button.
  4. Click the Change settings link and indicate which settings should be synced.

    At this stage, the browser will offer to install an app for working with Yandex.Disk — a service that stores your files on Yandex servers free of charge. If you have already installed this app, the browser prompts you to turn it on, so you will be able to store browser files on Yandex.Disk.

  5. Click Close.
Примечание. The first time you turn on device syncing, it may take from several minutes to half an hour. The data is downloaded gradually to avoid slowing down the browser.

Changing the list of data to sync

  1. Click  → Set up sync.
  2. In the Syncing section, click Show settings.
  3. Turn on options that allow you to sync only the data you need.
Примечание. The cache does not sync. Credit card numbers that are used when forms are autofilled also do not sync.

Delete synced data

Внимание. After the data has been deleted from the server, no one can recover it. Do not delete your synced data if you just want to stop syncing a computer you no longer use. In this case, disable syncing for the computer, and then manually delete passwords, history, bookmarks, cache and cookies from it.

To delete data from all your synced devices:

  1. Click  → Set up sync.
  2. In the Syncing section, click Show settings.
  3. Click the delete link under the options in the block.
  4. In the Would you like to delete this information? window, click Delete to confirm that you want to delete all account data from the synchronization server.

After that your data is deleted from the server. During the next syncing session, it will be deleted from all synced devices linked to your account.

Disable syncing

  1. Click  → Save data.
  2. Click the Disable button.