Questions about browser settings

Will the browser have a “home page”?

Instead of showing a start page when launching, Yandex.Browser shows either the Tableau with the most frequently visited pages, or tabs that were left open the last time. To select your preferred option, click  → Settings → Launch on startup.

What happens when browser settings are reset?

As the result of resetting browser settings, the original settings will be restored:

To reset the browser settings:

  1. Click   → Settings.
  2. In the lower half of the Settings page, click Show advanced settings.
  3. In the Reset settings section of the browser, click Reset settings.
  4. Click Reset.

How does the browser protect its settings?

Some programs (such as chat programs, extra browser panels, and so on) may change your browser settings without asking you.

Yandex.Browser tracks these changes and automatically restores the default settings. You’ll see a message about this at the top of the settings page (just click  → Settings):

Which search engine is used by default?

The Yandex search engine is used by default. You can change it in the browser settings.

How does the browser protect the default search engine?

Certain programs may change the default search engine without telling you.

To prevent this, the browser asks you to confirm the changes (you will need to enter the security code from an image):

How can I disable the browser update in the background?

Yandex.Browser is automatically updated whether or not you use it. This is for security reasons: new threats and vulnerabilities constantly arise in the internet and the browser gets new and improved security.

We do not recommend disabling automatic update in the background, but if you need to:

  1. Click   → Settings.
  2. In the lower half of the Settings page, click Show advanced settings.
  3. In the System section, disable the Update browser even when it's not open option.

Now automatic update in the background is disabled. However, as soon as you open the browser, it immediately checks for updates and will do so regularly in the future when running.

You can't completely disable automatic updates in the browser. We recommend using the latest browser version to get maximum protection against internet threats.

Problem with viewing documents

Check to see if document preview is disabled in Yandex.Browser:

  1. Open the downloads page (using the keyboard shortcut Ctrl + J, for example),
  2. Find a downloaded file in the format you need.
  3. Open the context menu for it.
  4. Check whether the Open quick view for... option is enabled. If the option is enabled, disable it.

How to reset Zen and change preferences

Reset Zen

Delete browsing history completely and reset Zen.

To clear browsing history:

  1. Use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl + Shift + Del.
  2. In the Obliterate the following items list, select The beginning of time.
  3. Select cookies and other site and plugin data (disable all the other options if you only want to delete cookies).
  4. Click Clear browsing data.

Then you can set Zen as follows:

  1. Go to page.
  2. Select interesting resources (at least five).
  3. Click the Continue button at the bottom to generate a feed.
  4. Open a new tab in the browser.
Note. Cookies are usually used to “recognize” a site visitor (for example, so a user who recently visited the site is not asked for a username and password again). So if you clear them, the websites will be unlogged.
Change preferences if you didn’t like the content

The content of the recommendations feed is fully customized. All you have to do is indicate your preferences:

  • If you like a posting, click on  in the lower right corner of the recommendation and Zen will recommend more of the same materials. The site will be added to your favorites list.
  • If you don’t like a posting, click on  in the lower right corner of the recommendation and Zen will recommend less of the same materials.
  • If you don’t want to view materials on this site, click the  icon in the lower right corner of the recommendation and then the Block <...> link. The site will be added to your blocked list.

Future postings will continue to be adjusted and selected based on your browsing history.