Maximum clicks with manual bids

The Maximum clicks with manual bids strategy allows you to manually set bids for specific targeting criteria in campaigns with impressions in Yandex Search only. You will get the maximum number of impressions and clicks within the limits you have set for the bid, display region, and so on. Competition with other advertisers will also be factored in. In campaigns with impressions in the Yandex Advertising Network or in search results, the rules of the GSP auction apply, and the bid is set automatically. Manual bid management is not available.

With the conversion forecast tool, your bids can automatically decrease for clicks with a low probability of conversion, or increase for clicks with a high probability of conversion. This will allow you to get more targeted traffic. To make your ads more profitable for your business, specify conversions and their values. These values will be used by bid adjustment algorithms to target your specific needs.

Strategy settings

Daily budget

Average daily campaign spending per calendar week.

The budget is reallocated over the course of the week: your remaining balance from less active days will be spent during more active days. Daily spending may be higher or lower than the limit you set. The system can not spend more than 30% over your average daily budget amount. Your average daily spending over a week will not exceed the limit you set.

The budget will be distributed across the entire day or time period you entered in the time targeting settings. If the budget you set is not sufficient to serve your ads throughout the whole day, your ads will participate less frequently in the auction. If the specified budget is enough to serve ads all day, you will receive all available traffic.

If you use high-frequency keywords with a small daily budget or set high bids for keywords, Yandex Direct does not guarantee an even distribution of impressions throughout the day. Your available budget may run out completely at the beginning of the impression period, with no funds left for the rest of the day.

You can't change your daily budget more than three times per day:

  • When setting a limit or reducing the daily budget, the setting will be applied from the next day.
  • If you remove the limit or increase the daily budget, it will be applied immediately after activation.

In this case, the average spending from Monday through the day of the change can't exceed the previously set limit by more than 30%. For the remaining days of the week, the average expenditure will target the new amount of the daily budget.

The daily budget runs based on Moscow time (UTC+3), regardless of the time zone chosen for your campaign.

The minimum daily budget is ₽300 (values in other currencies).

Yandex Metrica tag

Add a Yandex Metrica tag.

If you don't have access to the Yandex Metrica tag, you can request access only for the goals configured for this tag. To do this, specify the tag, then click Request access.

Conversions and their value

Specify your conversions to focus the system on your tasks. By default, engaged sessions are selected.

If you can't access the necessary tags using the current username, you can request access to someone else's Yandex Metrica goals and use them to configure your campaign.

The number of conversions is unlimited.

Attribution model

Select the attribution model in the advanced settings, if needed.

An attribution model is a rule that determines which click is assigned as the source of a session on your site. The model helps you more accurately identify how advertising contributes to business growth. The bidding system uses Yandex Metrica statistics for the selected attribution model and focuses on achieving the desired result.

You should select a model based on your business type, the method you use for attracting traffic, and what information you need to obtain from it. The Automatic attribution model is set by default. You can change it as needed.

More about attribution models.


You can change strategies at any time in your campaign settings.

How to choose the optimal bid

Optimal bid is the maximum cost-effective CPC that an advertiser is willing to pay based on their business indicators to attract as much traffic as possible.

  • With a manual strategy, you need to independently select an optimal bid for each keyword. In your calculations, it's better to rely on your project's KPIs, not on traffic volumes or display positions.

  • In automatic strategies, optimal bids are selected automatically based on the set limits. For example, in the “Maximum number of clicks” strategy with a limit on the average CPC, the desired final campaign's CPC is set right away (you can also use adjustments in the main cross sections). This way, the algorithm manages bids more optimally, considering your budget constraints. In the “Maximum number of conversions” strategy, you can immediately specify the desired CPA or cost revenue ratio, without setting up bids or target CPC

If you haven't placed ads previously, to determine the optimal bid, estimate the expected conversion: Analyze the indicators from other traffic sources, study the market's average indicators, or launch a test campaign, for example, with the Maximum number of clicks automatic strategy, to collect data for calculations.

If you have placed ads previously, calculate the bid that makes the most business sense. To do this, analyze your revenue on the keywords using the Report Wizard:

  1. Select the goal you want to calculate revenue for.

  2. Add the cross section Impression criteria — it displays the keyword text.

  3. Select the columns: Clicks, Conversions, Average bid per click, and Revenue. Revenue in the report is calculated based on the conversion value set in the campaign settings or based on e-commerce data.

You can determine the most effective bid using the report data or calculate it yourself.

The method used to calculate the optimal bid depends on which business indicator is key: cost per order (CPO) or cost per action (CPA), cost revenue ratio (CRR), or return on investment (ROI).

Calculating bids from the target CPA or CPO

Optimal bid = CPA (CPO)×CRCPA\ (CPO)\times CR, where

CPA (CPO) is the target cost per conversion or order. CR is the rate of conversions from a click to a request or an order.

CPA = advertising expensesnumber of conversions\frac{advertising\ expenses}{number\ of\ conversions}

CR = number of conversionsnumber of clicks×100%\frac{number\ of\ conversions}{number\ of\ clicks}\times 100\%

Calculation example

The maximum cost the advertiser is willing to pay for acquiring one customer (target CPA) is ₽700. In total, there were 500 clicks and 5 requests for the keyword.

Conversion from click to request (CR) = 5500×100%\frac{5}{500}\times 100\% = 1%

Optimal bid = 700×1%700\times 1\% = ₽7.

Bid calculation based on the cost revenue ratio

Let's consider the calculation method based on the average order value.

Optimal bid = average check×CR×CRRaverage\ check\times CR\times CRR, where:

Cost revenue ratio (CRR) is the ratio of your advertising cost to the revenue it has generated. CR is the rate of conversions from click to purchase.

CRR = advertising expensesrevenues from advertising×100%\frac{advertising\ expenses}{revenues\ from\ advertising}\times 100\%

CR = number of salesnumber of clicks×100%\frac{number\ of\ sales}{number\ of\ clicks}\times 100\%

Specify the CRR value as a number, for example: 10% = 0.1; 100% = 1.

Calculation example

Let's say CRR should not exceed 15%, the average order value is ₽2800, and the conversion rate is 3%.

Optimal bid = 2800×0.03×0.152800\times 0.03\times 0.15 = ₽12.6.

Bid calculation based on the ROI

Let's consider the calculation method based on the average order value.

Optimal bid = average order size×CR(ROI+1)\frac{average\ order\ size\times CR}{(ROI + 1)}, where:

ROI means return on investment. It gauges your ad effectiveness in the context of ad investment. CR is the click conversion rate.

ROI = revenueadvertising costadvertising cost×100%\frac{revenue - advertising\ cost}{advertising\ cost}\times 100\%

CR = number of conversionsnumber of clicks×100%\frac{number\ of\ conversions}{number\ of\ clicks}\times 100\%

Enter the ROI value as a decimal number, for example: 10% = 0.1; 100% = 1.

Calculation example

Let's say, the company aims to achieve an ROI of 150%, the average order value is ₽1500, and the conversion rate is 4%.

Optimal bid = 1500×0.04(1.5+1)\frac{1500\times 0.04}{(1.5 + 1)} = ₽24.

Learn more about how to create a report and make decisions based on statistics.

How to set a bid

The bid for search impressions determines the traffic volume. The higher the traffic volume, the more clicks you can get. Premium placement results in the most clicks.

On the Campaigns page, select the campaigns and go to the Bids and keywords page. This page will display a list of all targeting criteria, such as keywords. Click the bid value and enter a new bid.

To set a bid for multiple targeting criteria, mark them or select all of them. Click Actions → Bid Wizard. Specify a single bid and click Save.

Learn more about setting bids.

Note

The bids you set can be modified through adjustments specified for a campaign or ad group.

The bid increment is 0.10 rubles ( values in other currencies). This means that if you set a bid of 2.08 rubles per click, your actual bid during the auction will be 2 rubles.

How bids affect traffic volume and click price

The estimated traffic volume depends on your ad's indicators and those of competing ads for the given keyword (bids, quality coefficients, and CTR forecast for the impression). To get more traffic, you can increase bids, but you can also make your ads more effective.

The entry threshold for premium placement does not depend on whether or not there are competitors.

If the system selects your ad, then you will probably pay the click price indicated for that traffic volume. The click price changes dynamically. The CPC for an ad can differ from the specified price.

Learn more about the Yandex Direct auction.

For Text & Image ads, the click prices displayed in the interface are calculated based on search queries that match the keyword (without stop words). For mobile app ads, they are calculated based on all search queries that include the keyword (without stop words). Click prices are calculated for all active ads of a group. If there are no active ads in a group, the prices are calculated for all ads in the group.

How to monitor traffic volume changes

In the campaign settings, enable email notifications and get information about changes in traffic volume to your email address.

You can also monitor the traffic volume and click prices by analyzing statistics with the Report Wizard. To do this, go to Cross sections and select Ad №, then go to Columns and select Clicks, Expenses, Average CPC, and Avg. traffic volume.

Learn more

Questions?

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Estimates the probability of conversions on the website where the Yandex Metrica tag is installed. It's calculated using machine learning algorithms based on Yandex Metrica data. ES indicators reflect visitor interest in your products and services.

Payment currency

Minimum daily budget

RUB

300

KZT

1 300

BYN

9

USD

10

EUR

10

CHF

10

TRY

17

Payment currency

Bid increment

RUB

0.1

KZT

1

BYN

0.01

USD

0.01

EUR

0.01

CHF

0.01

TRY

0.01

A value that is directly related to the clickability of an ad position. The traffic volume calculation factors in the ad design, number of ads in the section and their designs, and the ad display position on search. For example, if there are 4 positions in premium placement, then the first position will bring in a traffic volume of 100, and second, third, and fourth place will bring in a volume of 85, 75, and 65 respectively. The traffic volume can exceed 100 — if ads are served in expanded format, for example.